skip navigation
News & Events

Congratulations to Dark Horse Comics on 2008 Eisner Awards

Date: 08/26/2008
Portland State University Library is home to the Dark Horse Comics archives. We would like to congratulate Dark Horse Comics for their 2008 Eisner awards. The Eisner Awards were created to honor achievement in comics and were named after one of the pioneers of the genre, Will Eisner. Every year comic book professionals nominate and choose winners out of the plethora of comics, artists and writers that are involved every year.

The 2008 Eisner Awards to Dark Horse Comics are: * Best Painter—Eric Powell for Chinatown * Best Cover Artist—James Jean for Umbrella Academy (and Fables for DC and * Process Recess 2 for AdHouse) * Best Coloring—Dave Stewart for B.P.R.D., Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Cut, Hellboy, Lobster Johnson, The Umbrella Academy (and/ The Spirit /for DC) * Best Limited Series—The Umbrella Academy by Gerard Way and Gabriel Bá * Best Humor Publication—Perry Bible Fellowship by Nicholas Gurewitch * Best Writer/Artist (Humor)—Eric Powell for The Goon * Best Online Comic—Sugarshock on MySpace Dark Horse Presents by Joss Whedon and Fábio Moon * Best New Series—Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 by Joss Whedon and Georges Jeanty You can find this information and more about the Eisner Awards at

Portland State University | 503.725.5874 | Maps & Directions | Contact Us | Accessibility | Support the Library | Sitemap |