Early English Books Online (EEBO)|
Full text digital facsimiles of titles from the earliest printed works in the English language. More Info...
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Searchable database of digitized early American books, pamphlets and broadsides published between 1639 and 1800. More Info...
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full text of more than 150,000 important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Early American newspapers are a major primary source for American history. 1-3 provide unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690-1876. Series 1 covers 1690-1876, series 2 and 3 cover 1821-1876. More Info...
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Searchable database of digitized early American pamphlets, broadsides, books, state papers and governmental materials published between 1801 and 1819. More Info...
Cambridge Histories Online|
Cambridge Historical reference compendium allows instant access to the full texts of the Cambridge Histories series in e-book form. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. The e-books are grouped by topic, such as American History, British History, History of Science and so on. More Info...
Primary Source Collections in Other Libraries & Archives
Some primary sources, such as diaries or letters, are original manuscripts which exist in only one place in the world. Unless these have been microfilmed or digitized, you will have to visit the source to use these. Nearby institutions that contain primary source materials include:
Oregon Historical Society
1200 SW Park Avenue
Portland, OR 97205
Multnomah County Public Library - Central Library
801 S.W. 10th Avenue
Portland, OR 97205
Northwest Digital Archives
Finding Aids of collections at libraries, museums, and historical centers in the Northwest can be searched through the Northwest Digital Archives database. Though a significant number of finding aids are included, they do not represent the entire holdings of the participating institutions.
Microfilmed or reprinted primary source materials at remote locations may be requested through Interlibrary Loan (although these requests may not always be filled). To locate possible additional sources, you can try WorldCat:
When searching in WorldCat for primary source materials, you can use the same headings you used while searching VIKAT. Another option would be to do a keyword search, but limit your search to Archival Materials.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
This source lists manuscript collections and their locations and is especially useful if you are trying to locate where someone's personal papers are held. The Library has a print copy covering 1959-1992 at Z6620.U5 N3 | 2nd Floor.
Manuscript collections which have been cataloged since 1986 appear in the online searchable NUCMC catalog. There are two parts, the OCLC and the RLG Union Catalog. WorldCat includes the OCLC records, so you may just want to use the RLG Union Catalog.
If you find an item of interest and want to know where it is located, look for the "Control no." toward the end of the full record and note the first four letters of the control number which is the RLG library identifer. You can then search for this identifier in the list of RLG Identifiers.
National Archives & Records Administration Archival Research Catalog
About 40% of the materials in the National Archives have been included in this catalog, although that amount continues to grow. You can limit your search to digital archival material by checking the box in the search screen, or broaden your search to locate more materials. Most microfilmed materials can be borrowed from the NARA. The search below also demonstrates how you can limit to the holdings of the local NARA branch in Seattle.
Other guides to finding archival collections include:
Columbia University: Archives and Manuscript Collections
Repositories of Primary Sources
Locating Primary Sources on the Web
This excellent guide to finding and using primary sources on the Web was designed by the librarians in the History Section of the American Library Association's Reference and User Services division. As well as linking you to key online primary resources, the site provides guidance on how to search for additional resources, judge the quality of those resources, and cite the sources in a bibliography.