Research Guide for Native American Studies
Print View

Tom Larsen

Head of Monographic Cataloging / Associate Professor
(503) 725-8179
larsent@pdx.edu

Researching in Native American Studies

Find
Articles
Biographies
Books/Book Chapters
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
Films
Government Information
Legal Resources
Newspapers
Organizations
Primary Sources
Statistics
Web Resources
 ** View All **

Primary Sources


Electronic Resources

Related Resources
Chronicling America
Archives US newspapers from 1836 to 1922. Maintains a directory of US newspapers from 1690 to the present.  More Info...

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Searchable database of digitized early American books, pamphlets and broadsides published between 1639 and 1800.  More Info...

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Searchable database of digitized early American pamphlets, broadsides, books, state papers and governmental materials published between 1801 and 1819.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2007)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2007 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...

American State Papers
Presents the digitized edition of legislative and executive documents of the U.S.Congress from the late 18th and early 19th centuries.  More Info...

US Congress. Congressional Serial Set.
Searchable, full text database of the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.  More Info...



Cherokee Phoenix (and Indians Advocate)
E99 .C6 C6518 | Microfilm
The Cherokee Phoenix (1828-1833) is also available online through the Georgia Historic Newspapers site.

Native Americans Documents Project
Site includes documents about federal policies concerning native peoples Includes documents of Bureau of Indian Affairs,1871; Allotment Data; Rogue River War and Siletz Reservation Collection.

Avalon Project
A searchable collection of primary source documents in law, history and democracy. Provided by Yale Law School.

Southern Oregon Digital Archive: First Nations Tribal Collection

Chief George Manual Memorial Library and the Fourth World Documentation archive
Includes over 1,000 digitized documents, reports, and publications from American Indian nations and indigenous nations from around the world.

Microfilm Collections in the PSU Library

The PSU Library's collection of microfilm relating to Native Americans includes correspondence between reservation agents and the various incarnations of the U.S. governmental agency that oversaw Indian Affairs, records of those agencies, censuses of Indians, FBI files, government hearings, and many other types of documents. Since some of these items are not included in the Library's online catalog, an inventory has been prepared that will provide you with the titles, holdings, and locations of these items, as well as the titles and locations of any accompanying guides.

Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter