Research Guide for Native American Studies
Print View

Tom Larsen

Head of Monographic Cataloging / Associate Professor
(503) 725-8179
larsent@pdx.edu

Researching in Native American Studies

Find
Articles
Biographies
Books/Book Chapters
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
Films
Government Information
Legal Resources
Newspapers
Organizations
Primary Sources
Statistics
Web Resources
 ** View All **

Encyclopedias/Dictionaries


Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin your research. They frequently contain contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are usually included.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Oxford Reference Online
Full text subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference and handbooks in all disciplinary areas.   More Info...


Related Resources
Literature Online - LION
Literature Online features a collection of over 260,000 works of American, English, and Modern poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and secondary resources.  More Info...



American Indian Tribes
E77 .A53 2000 | 2nd Floor

Atlas of the North American Indian
E77 .W195 2000 | 2nd Floor

Gale encyclopedia of Multicultural America
E184 .A1 G14 1995 | 2nd Floor

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
E184 .A1 H35 | 2nd Floor

This day in North American Indian History: Important Dates in the History of North America's Native Peoples for Every Calendar Day
E77 .K66 2002 | 2nd Floor

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
E77 .G15 1998 | 2nd Floor

Handbook of North American Indians
E77 .H25 | 2nd Floor

Native North American Firsts
E77 .S96 1998 | 2nd Floor

Arts & Literature

American Indian Art
E98 .A7 F38 | PSU Reserves

American Indian Culture
E98.S7 A44 2004 | 2nd Floor

Art and the Native American: Perceptions, Reality, and Influences
E59.A7 A69 2001 | Basement

Children's and Young Adult Literature by Native Americans: A Guide for Librarians, Teachers, Parents and Students
Z1229.I52 Y67 2003 | 5th Floor

Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
PS153 .I52 W47 1999 | 2nd Floor

Native American Writers of the United States
PN451 .D52 vol. 175 | 2nd Floor

People of the River: Native Arts of the Oregon Territory
E78.C64 M47 2005 | Basement

Roots and branches : a resource of Native American literature : themes, lessons, and bibliographies
PS153 .I52 S87 1998 | 4th Floor

Understanding Northwest Coast Art: A Gude to Crists, Beings and Symbols
E78 .N78 S446 2000 | Basement

Religion & Spirituality

Encyclopedia of Native American Healing
E98 .M4 L96 1996 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: An Introduction
E98 .R3 H73 2000 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North America
E98 .M4 L98 1998 | 2nd Floor

Peyotism and the Native American Church: An Annotated Bibliography
Z1209.2 .N67 W56 2000 | 2nd Floor

Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter