Web Resources
Administration for Native Americans
Part of the Administration For Children and Families, ANA promotes the goal of social and economic self-sufficiency of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and other Native American Pacific Islanders, including Native Samoans. The web site provides information about programs, reports, application kits, and links to related sites.
American Indian Resource Directory
Sponsored by the American Indian Heritage Foundation, this site provides a directory of federally recognized tribes in the United States.
American Indian Studies Research Institute
An interdisciplinary research center at Indiana University, the Institute sponsors projects focused on the native peoples of the Americas. The site allows public access to the current results of their ongoing projects. The Institute's Dictionary Portal allows the visitor to work with AISRI dictionaries for five languages. The Northern Caddoan Linguistic Text Corpora Portal is a gateway to texts and narratives in Arikara, Skiri Pawnee, and South Band Pawnee.
National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers
Founded in 1998, the Association is a national non-profit membership organization of Tribal government officials who implement federal and tribal preservation laws. NATHPO's overarching purpose is to support the preservation, maintenance and revitalization of the culture and traditions of Native peoples of the United States. This is accomplished most importantly through the support of Tribal Historic Preservation Programs as acknowledged by the National Park Service.
Arts & Literature
Insitute of American Indian Arts
National Museum of the American Indian
The National Museum of the American Indian is the sixteenth museum of the Smithsonian Institution. It is the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans.
Native American Playwrights
Resource provided by Haskell Indian Nations University and the University of Illinois Champaign/Urbanna.
Native Art Network
Find images, general information, and news about Native American art and culture. Browse by artist, medium, or tribe.
Southwest Museum of the American Indian
Storytellers: Native American Authors Online
Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian
ANPA Tribal Writers Digital Library
The Native Writers Digital Text Project brings the works of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose to readers world wide. Featuring out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada, the project seeks to broaden the definition of Native Writing not only by focusing on writers who are not ordinarily anthologized, but also by publishing works which originally appeared in ephemeral sources and the periodical press, especially in those publications edited and produced by Natives.
Religion & Spirituality
Native American Spirituality
This University of Virginia website explores the belief systems of Native Americans, and includes an extensive bibliography and links to related websites.
NativeWeb Religion and Spirituality Resources
A lengthy collection of links to sites about spirituality and specific Native American churches in the U.S.
Oregon
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
This digital collection integrates over 2,300 photographs and 7,700 pages of text relating to the American Indians in two cultural areas of the Pacific Northwest, the Northwest Coast and Plateau. These resources illustrate many aspects of life and work, including housing, clothing, crafts, transportation, education, and employment. The materials are drawn from the extensive collections of the University of Washington Libraries, the Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture (formerly the Cheney Cowles Museum/Eastern Washington State Historical Society), and the Museum of History and Industry in Seattle.
Oregon Indian Tribes
This Access Genealogy site provides information such as location and population of various Oregon Indian tribes.
Oregon Native American Chamber of Commerce
Portland State University Native American Student and Community Center |