Research Guide for History
Print View

Joan Petit

Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian / Assistant Professor
(503) 725-2397
jpetit@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in History

Find
Articles
Biographies
Book Reviews
Books/Book Chapters
Dissertations/Theses
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
Historiography
Maps
Newspapers
Primary Sources
Statistics
Web Resources (including primary source websites)
 ** View All **

Newspapers


A list of our print and electronic subscriptions to newspapers can be found at http://www.pdx.edu/library/newspapers.html. Older issues of some newspapers are microfilmed and stored in the Microforms area on the 3rd floor:

The New York Times at PSU Microforms AN .N47 from 1851-present. Access the full-text for the years 1851-2001 from the link below. A printed index to the New York Times is located on the 2nd floor at AI21 .N44.

The Oregonian The full text of The Oregonian from February 04, 1861 to December 31, 1922 is in America's Historical Newspapers

The Oregonian is also available on microfilm at PSU Microforms AN .O739. Access the full-text for the years 1988-present from the link below.

The University of Oregon has compiled an online index to the Oregonian from 1850-1987. Access this from Oregon Newspapers Index link below.

US Newspaper Program
The National Endowment for the Humanities is sponsoring the microfilming and/or digitization of United States' newspapers. A list of participating organizations and descriptions of their projects can be found at the site, as well as links to their collections.



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Oregon Newspapers Index
Currently website lists where to find indexing to Oregon newspapers statewide. A database of Oregonian and other Oregon newspapers articles citations will be available in 2006.  More Info...

Oregonian
Full text of selected coverage from the Oregonian (focused on business and regional politics) from 1997 to the present.  More Info...

Newspaper Source
Selected full text of regional, national, and international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2007)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2007 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...

New York Times
New York Times (Final NYC Edition) full text articles via Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.  More Info...



Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter