Research Guide for History
Print View

Joan Petit

Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian / Assistant Professor
(503) 725-2397
jpetit@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in History

Find
Articles
Biographies
Book Reviews
Books/Book Chapters
Dissertations/Theses
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
Historiography
Maps
Newspapers
Primary Sources
Statistics
Web Resources (including primary source websites)
 ** View All **

Articles


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Historical Abstracts
Principal resource for articles on world history from 1450-present.  More Info...

America: History and Life
This principal resource for citations of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada includes full text articles and book reviews.  More Info...

History Cooperative
Searchable and browseable index of full-text history journals.  More Info...

International Medieval Bibliography
Citations to journal articles and books related to the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from 400-1500.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2007)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2007 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...


Related Resources
Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network (BCIN)
Maintains citations related to conservation and restoration of cultural property.   More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
JSTOR
Contains historical backfiles of full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  More Info...

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Citations to articles from major social science and humanities journals from 1907-1984  More Info...

Social Sciences Citation Index
Topic and citation searching to identify articles published in high impact social science journals.  More Info...



C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974
Z6205 .C18 | 2nd Floor
Indexes all articles from the earliest volumes through 1974 for 243 English-language periodicals covering all periods and all areas in the field of history. The articles are arranged by country in Vols. 1-4

Using Bibliographies

A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources, it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.

Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter