|
|
Articles
Reading and reviewing journal articles is an excellent way to improve your knowledge about a particular aspect of a field or the discipline. Criminology is a interdisciplinary field of research, therefore, you may need to consult other research guides.
In general, databases provide indexes to journals and give an abstract of each article within the journal. Some databases provide the full-text of the article. Additionally, databases contain:
- peer-reviewed journals
- non-peer-reviewed journals and magazines
- government reports and documents
- conference proceedings
- dissertations
- newspaper articles
For guidance, review you course syllabus for the type and quantity of material required for your research.
Most databases provide several access points, such as:
- Author: (Dershowitz, Alan) --last name, first name
- Keywords: (juvenile AND death penalty)
- Subject terms: (Capital punishment)
- Date ranges: (01/01/2000-10/31/2008)
- Title: The age of death: Appraising public opinion of juvenile capital punishment
- Journal: Journal of Criminal Justice
Using any combinations of these elements allows the researcher to narrow the results.
Electronic Resources
| Core Resources |
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Offers citations, abstracts, and full text articles in scholarly journals on crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts,and sentencing. More Info...
Criminology Full Text
Covers criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, as well as family and domestic violence. More Info...
Homeland Security Digital Library
An authoritative tool for research in the field of homeland security, which includes topics such as terrorism, public health, borders and immigration, intelligence, civil liberties, weapons and the military. More Info...
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology. More Info...
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full text sources, including: regional, national and international newspapers; business, legal, and medical publications; and government documents. More Info...
National Criminal Justice Reference Services
Full text of criminal justice publications from federal, state, and local government. Contains books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. More Info...
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc. More Info...
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior. More Info...
|
| Related Resources |
Annual Reviews Online
Composed of full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines including the biomedical, physical and social sciences. More Info...
Annual Review of Sociology
Consists of full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics within sociology. More Info...
CQ Library
Contains full text of CQ Researcher reports, CQ Weekly (bills and legislative actions)as well as reference works on politics, commerce, and the U.S. Congress. More Info...
EconLit
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics. More Info...
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Citations to articles discussing tests and instruments used in social science research.
(Internet Explorer or Safari recommended) More Info...
Legal Collection
Full-text scholarly articles covering all areas of law. More Info...
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Controversial contemporary topic summaries providing overviews of the issues, description of aspects of the issue, and providing pro and con arguments for each side. Each title explores a specific issue by placing opinions in a pro/con format. More Info...
Social Sciences Citation Index
Topic and citation searching to identify articles published in high impact social science journals. More Info...
Social Services Abstracts
Citations to research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. More Info...
Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. More Info...
|
| Multidisciplinary Resources |
JSTOR
Contains historical backfiles of full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. More Info...
ProjectMuse
Full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses. More Info...
|
|