Research Guide for Conflict Resolution
Print View

Joan Petit

Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian / Assistant Professor
(503) 725-2397
jpetit@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Conflict Resolution

Find
Articles
Biographies
Books/Book Chapters
Data
Dissertations/Theses
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
Methodology
Organizations
Primary Sources
Style Manuals
Web Resources
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Anthropology
Child and Family Studies
Criminology & Criminal Justice
History
International Studies
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Social Work
Sociology
Womens Studies

Encyclopedias/Dictionaries


Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin your research. They frequently contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are usually included.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Oxford Reference Online
Full text subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference and handbooks in all disciplinary areas.   More Info...



Aggression and Conflict: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
HM136 .L46 1994 | 3rd floor

The Atlas of War and Peace
G1046.R1 S6 2003 | Basement

Encyclopedia of Arms control and Disarmament
JX1974 .E57 1993 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Conflict Resolution
Online version
HM136 .B783 1997 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping operations
JZ6374 .R36 1999 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts
GN496 .E56 2003 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace & Conflict
HM886 .E53 1999 | 2nd Floor

International Conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and their Management, 1945-1995
D842 .B46 1997 | 2nd Floor

Peace law almanac
JX1952 .P337 1996 | 2nd Floor

Peace Movements of the World
JX1905.5 .P426 1986 | 2nd Floor

The Peace and Nuclear War Dictionary
U263 .A434 1989 | 2nd Floor

Peace, Security, and Conflict Prevention: SIPRI-UNESCO Handbook
JZ5595 .P43 1998 | 3rd Floor

Protest, Power, and cCange: An Encyclopedia of Nonviolent Action from ACT-UP to Women's Suffrage
HM278 .P76 1997 | 3rd Floor

SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament
UA10 .I55 | 2nd Floor

World Encyclopedia of Peace
JX1944 .W67 1986 | 2nd Floor

Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter