Research Guide for Conflict Resolution
Print View

Joan Petit

Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian / Assistant Professor
(503) 725-2397
jpetit@pdx.edu
Web Page

Researching in Conflict Resolution

Find
Articles
Biographies
Books/Book Chapters
Data
Dissertations/Theses
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
Methodology
Organizations
Primary Sources
Style Manuals
Web Resources
 ** View All **
 
Related Guides
Anthropology
Child and Family Studies
Criminology & Criminal Justice
History
International Studies
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Social Work
Sociology
Womens Studies

Articles


Because Conflict Resolution is a field that overlaps with many other disciplines, there is no one database that covers all of its literature. Below are listed a few databases which may be useful, but the best way to pursue researching a topic is to consider which field concerns itself with your research question. Does it relate to business mediation, social conflict, international conflict, or another area?

Consider which fields would have researchers writing about your topic and then explore the databases and other research tools that relate to those fields. To assist you, some guides to related disciplines are linked to the column on the left.

Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Academic Search Complete
Contains journals from all subject areas in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.   More Info...

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.  More Info...

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes articles related to political institutions, processes and behavior; international law and politics; public policy; public administration; political theory; and political economics.  More Info...


Related Resources
Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Offers citations, abstracts, and full text articles in scholarly journals on crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts,and sentencing.  More Info...

Criminology Full Text
Covers criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, as well as family and domestic violence.  More Info...

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.  More Info...



Alternative Press Index
AI3 .A27 | 2nd Floor

Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Political Science, 1886-1974
Z7163 .C65 | 2nd Floor

Peace: Abstracts of the Psychological and Behavioral Literature, 1967-1990
Z6464 .Z9 P39 1991 2nd Floor

Peace Research Abstracts Journal
JX1901 .P38 | 3rd Floor

Using Bibliographies

A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources; it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.

Bibliography on Peace, Security and International Conflict Management
Y 3.P 31:17 P 31 | Govt Documents Federal (4th Floor)

Peacekeeping
http://www.au.af.mil/au/aul/bibs/peacekp03/peacekp03.htm
A bibliography of sources prepared by a Librarian at the Air University Library, Maxwell Air Force Base.

Surviving the Nuclear Age: A Bibliography on Nuclear Weapons, Arms Control and Disarmament, 1945-1983
Z6464 .D6 P87 1983 | 2nd Floor

Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter