Research Guide for Critical Approaches to Literature
Standard View

Articles


An important aspect of literary research is to explore the scholarship that has been done on your topic. You may think of it as a conversation that you are about to join. This "scholary communictation" takes the form of journal articles, books and book chapters with extended participation through citations and bibliographies.

The list below identifies the resources availabe at Portland State Library to locate articles. Note that the MLA International Bibliography appears first on the list. The MLA is the major resource for doing research in literature of all languages. You will also find it useful for linguisics and folklore.

 

Caution: 

The Article Search you see on the opening screen will not yield the best results.

 

Use the Databases listed below for literary research!



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.  More Info...

Literature Online - LION
Literature Online features a collection of over 260,000 works of American, English, and Modern poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and secondary resources.  More Info...

Literature Resource Center
Provides information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.  More Info...

Literature Compass
Literature Compass is an online-only journal publishing peer-reviewed survey articles of the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline.  More Info...


Related Resources
International Medieval Bibliography
Citations to journal articles and books related to the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from 400-1500.  More Info...

JSTOR
Contains historical backfiles of full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  More Info...

ProjectMuse
Full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.  More Info...




Biographies


The Literature Resource Center and Literature Online are excellent resources for biographical information on authors. The links are listed below.

 

 

 



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Literature Online - LION
Literature Online features a collection of over 260,000 works of American, English, and Modern poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and secondary resources.  More Info...

Literature Resource Center
Provides information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.  More Info...

Critical Insights
Provides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.  More Info...


Related Resources
Biography Reference Center (Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated)
Maintains biographies and obituaries of individuals by name, date of birth, date of death, or country of origin.   More Info...

Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Historical reference compendium allows instant access to the full texts of the Cambridge Histories series in e-book form. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. The e-books are grouped by topic, such as American History, British History, History of Science and so on.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's Edition
Text of primary source documents and historical interpretations focusing on women in American social movements.  More Info...




Book Reviews


Note: for early book reviews use the electronic resources listed under Related.



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Literature Resource Center
Provides information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.  More Info...

Academic Search Complete
Contains journals from all subject areas in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.   More Info...


Related Resources
Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Early American newspapers are a major primary source for American history. 1-3 provide unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690-1876. Series 1 covers 1690-1876, series 2 and 3 cover 1821-1876.  More Info...

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1980 (H.W. Wilson)
Citations to articles in general and popular magazines. Coverage of popular magazine publishing from 1890-1982.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2007)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2007 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...




Citing Articles


The MLA Bibliography provides the correct way to cite articles. Click for video!





Dissertations/Theses


The MLA Bibliography indexes dissertations. The best (core) resource subscribed to by the Library  to view the fulltext of these items is listed below.



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Dissertations and Masters Theses
Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.  More Info...




Encyclopedias/Dictionaries


The Library subscribes to a number of good online resources such as those listed below.

Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Reference Online
Literature Online--LION has:











Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Literature Online - LION
Literature Online features a collection of over 260,000 works of American, English, and Modern poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and secondary resources.  More Info...

Oxford English Dictionary
The OED covers the history of the English Language. Contains word definitions, pronunciation, history, and language of origin.  More Info...

Oxford Reference Online
Full text subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference and handbooks in all disciplinary areas.   More Info...




Literature Majors


The following is a list of research competencies for English or American Literatjre majors.Please feel free to contact me at eltetos@pdx.edu if you would like to discuss the list. Sharon Elteto.

Research Competencies for English or American Literature Majors 

 

I. Understand the structure of information within the field of literary research:

A. Differentiate between primary and secondary sources and use each appropriately.

B. Understand that literary scholarship is produced and disseminated in a variety of formats, including monographs, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, reference sources and Web sites.

C. Learn the significant features (e.g., series title, volume number, imprint) of different kinds of documents (e.g., journal articles, monographs, essays from edited collections) before beginning research or attempting to apply citation style formats.

D. Differentiate between reviews of literary works and literary criticism.

E. Understand the concept of peer reviewed sources of information.

F. Understand that literary texts exist in a variety of editions, some of which are more authoritative or useful than others.

G. Understand the process of literary production, from authors’ manuscripts through publication in a variety of printed editions and formats and including availability in bookstores, libraries, and the Internet.

II. Identify and use key literary research tools to locate relevant information:

A. Effectively use library catalogs to identify relevant holdings at local institutions and print and online catalogs and bibliographic tools to identify holdings at other libraries.

B. Distinguish among the different types of reference works (e.g., bibliographies of bibliographies, annals, serial bibliographies, abstracts, literary dictionaries) and understand the kind of access to information offered by each.

C. Identify, locate, evaluate, and use reference information about authors, critics, and theorists.

D. Use subjective and objective sources such as book reviews and citation indexes to determine the relative importance of an author and/or specific work.

E. Use reference resources to provide background information and contextual information about social, intellectual, and literary culture.

F. Understand the range of physical locations in one's local library system and the local retrieval and delivery services available.

G. Understand the uses of consortia catalogs and services.

III. Plan effective search strategies and modify search strategies as needed:

A. Use appropriate commands (such as Boolean operators) for database searches

B. Identify broader, narrower, and related terms or concepts when initial searches retrieve few or no results

C. Identify and use subject terms from the MLA International Bibliography and other specialized indexes and bibliographies

D. Identify and use Library of Congress subject headings for literature and authors

IV. Recognize and make appropriate use of library services in the research process:

A. Identify and utilize librarians and reference services in the research process

B. Use interlibrary loan and document delivery to acquire materials not available at one's own library

C. Use digital resource service centers to read and create literary and critical documents in a variety of digital forms

V. Understand that some information sources are more authoritative than others and demonstrate critical thinking in the research process:

A. Learn the different types of Internet resources (e.g., electronic discussion lists, websites) and how to evaluate them for relevancy and credibility

B. Differentiate between resources provided free on the Internet and other electronic resources

VI. Understand the technical and ethical issues involved in writing research essays:

A. Employ the MLA documentation style and document sources ethically

B. Understand the relationship between received knowledge and the production of new knowledge in the discipline of literary studies

C. Analyze and ethically incorporate the work of others to create new knowledge

VII. Locate information about the literary profession itself:

A. Access information about graduate programs; specialized programs in film study, creative writing, and other related fields; and workshops and summer study opportunities

B. Access information about financial assistance and scholarships available for literary study and related fields

                C. Access information on careers in literary studies





Newspapers


Newpapers are considered primary sources. We have a number of subscriptions covering early years.




Electronic Resources

Core Resources
America's Historical Newspapers
Consists of searchable digital facsimiles of local newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Read eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and reviews.   More Info...

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Searchable database of digitized early American books, pamphlets and broadsides published between 1639 and 1800.  More Info...

Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Early American newspapers are a major primary source for American history. 1-3 provide unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690-1876. Series 1 covers 1690-1876, series 2 and 3 cover 1821-1876.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2007)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2007 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...

New York Times
New York Times (Final NYC Edition) full text articles via Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.  More Info...




Online Books


Find some internet sources for ebooks below.




Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Critical Insights
Provides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.  More Info...

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full text digital facsimiles of titles from the earliest printed works in the English language.  More Info...

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full text of more than 150,000 important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.   More Info...


Related Resources
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Searchable database of digitized early American books, pamphlets and broadsides published between 1639 and 1800.  More Info...


Some web sources for ebooks:

Go to British Libraries "Treasures in Full" to see 107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the 1642 theatre closures.


For millions of books available via the Internet go to:
The Internet Archive.




Primary Sources


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full text digital facsimiles of titles from the earliest printed works in the English language.  More Info...

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Searchable database of digitized early American books, pamphlets and broadsides published between 1639 and 1800.  More Info...

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full text of more than 150,000 important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.   More Info...

Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Early American newspapers are a major primary source for American history. 1-3 provide unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690-1876. Series 1 covers 1690-1876, series 2 and 3 cover 1821-1876.  More Info...

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Searchable database of digitized early American pamphlets, broadsides, books, state papers and governmental materials published between 1801 and 1819.  More Info...


Related Resources
Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Historical reference compendium allows instant access to the full texts of the Cambridge Histories series in e-book form. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. The e-books are grouped by topic, such as American History, British History, History of Science and so on.  More Info...


Primary Source Collections in Other Libraries & Archives

Some primary sources, such as diaries or letters, are original manuscripts which exist in only one place in the world. Unless these have been microfilmed or digitized, you will have to visit the source to use these. Nearby institutions that contain primary source materials include:

Oregon Historical Society
1200 SW Park Avenue
Portland, OR 97205
http://www.ohs.org/


Multnomah County Public Library - Central Library
801 S.W. 10th Avenue
Portland, OR 97205
http://www.multcolib.org/agcy/cen.html

Northwest Digital Archives
Finding Aids of collections at libraries, museums, and historical centers in the Northwest can be searched through the Northwest Digital Archives database. Though a significant number of finding aids are included, they do not represent the entire holdings of the participating institutions.

Microfilmed or reprinted primary source materials at remote locations may be requested through Interlibrary Loan (although these requests may not always be filled). To locate possible additional sources, you can try WorldCat:

WorldCat
When searching in WorldCat for primary source materials, you can use the same headings you used while searching VIKAT. Another option would be to do a keyword search, but limit your search to Archival Materials.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
http://www.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/nucmc.html
This source lists manuscript collections and their locations and is especially useful if you are trying to locate where someone's personal papers are held. The Library has a print copy covering 1959-1992 at Z6620.U5 N3 | 2nd Floor.

Manuscript collections which have been cataloged since 1986 appear in the online searchable NUCMC catalog. There are two parts, the OCLC and the RLG Union Catalog. WorldCat includes the OCLC records, so you may just want to use the RLG Union Catalog.

If you find an item of interest and want to know where it is located, look for the "Control no." toward the end of the full record and note the first four letters of the control number which is the RLG library identifer. You can then search for this identifier in the list of RLG Identifiers.

National Archives & Records Administration Archival Research Catalog
http://www.archives.gov/research_room/arc/index.html
About 40% of the materials in the National Archives have been included in this catalog, although that amount continues to grow. You can limit your search to digital archival material by checking the box in the search screen, or broaden your search to locate more materials. Most microfilmed materials can be borrowed from the NARA. The search below also demonstrates how you can limit to the holdings of the local NARA branch in Seattle.

Other guides to finding archival collections include:

Columbia University: Archives and Manuscript Collections
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/eguides/speccol.html

Repositories of Primary Sources
http://www.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html

Locating Primary Sources on the Web

http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/RUSA/

This excellent guide to finding and using primary sources on the Web was designed by the librarians in the History Section of the American Library Association's Reference and User Services division. As well as linking you to key online primary resources, the site provides guidance on how to search for additional resources, judge the quality of those resources, and cite the sources in a bibliography.



Winter 2010


 

  F. Scott Fitgerald's The Great Gatsby

  Albert Camus' The Stranger

  Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping

  Henry James' The Turn of the Screw


The Great Gatsby

Tips

Go to Critical Insights for a collection of seminal articles on The Great Gatsby. The print version of the book is available also at: PS3511.I9 G845 2010 on the 4th Floor.

Go to Literature Online for:

  • About the Author
  • Bibliography
  • Characters
  • SUMMARY
  • Plot 
  • Style 
  • Themes and Motifs
  • Chapter Highlights

Finding books on Great Gatsby :

Finding Articles: Start with the MLA. You will find articles available fulltext through multiple sources, such as JSTOR and Project Muse.

The Stranger

Tips

Go to Literature Online for: 

  • About the Author
  • Bibliography
  • Characters
  • SUMMARY
  • Plot 
  • Style 
  • Themes and Motifs
  • Chapter Highlights

Finding Books on Albert Camus:

Finding Articles: Start with the MLA. You will find articles available fulltext through multiple sources, such as JSTOR and Project Muse.

 Housekeeping

Tips

Finding Books on Marilynne Robinson:

Finding Articles: Start with the MLA. You will find articles available fulltext through multiple sources, such as JSTOR and Project Muse.


The Turn of the Screw

Tips

Go to  Literature Online for: 

  • About the Author
  • Bibliography
  • Characters
  • SUMMARY
  • Plot 
  • Style 
  • Themes and Motifs
  • Chapter Highlights

Finding Books on The Turn of the Screw:

Finding Articles: Start with the MLA. You will find articles available fulltext through multiple sources, such as JSTOR and Project Muse.

 



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Critical Insights
Provides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.  More Info...




Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter