Index Islamicus, a catalogue of articles on Islamic subjects in periodicals and other collective publications, includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. Z7835 .M6 L623. Second Floor Reference.
Religion Index One. Periodicals. Z7753 .A5 Second Floor Reference.
Buddhism on the Internet
Christianity on the Internet
To find data on American religious denominations use ARDA.|
The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) is a project funded by the Lilly Endowment, Inc. and acts to preserve quantitative data on American religion, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files. The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
The following print items are located on the Reference Shelves, 2nd Floor:
Concise Encyclopedia of Islam. Cyril Glasse. BP40 .G42 1989.
Contemporary American Religion. Wade Clark Roof, ed. BL2525 .C65 2000
Encyclopedia of Buddhism / Robert E. Buswell, Jr., editor in chief. BQ128 .E62 2004
Atlas of American Religion : the Denominational Era, 1776-1990 / William M. Newman, Peter L. Halvorson. BR515 .N49 2000
Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions / James R. Lewis. Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 1998. BL2525 .L49 1998
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. Michael P. McHugh, ed. BR162.2 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism / Brenda E. Brasher, editor. New York : Routledge, 2001. BL238 .E63 2001
Encyclopedia of Judaism. Geoffrey Wigoder, ed. BM50 .E632 1989.
Encyclopedia of Monasticism. 2 volumes. BL631.E63 2000
Encyclopedia of Mysticism. John Ferguson. BL625.F44 1977
Encyclopedia of Religion / [editor in chief, Mircea Eliade. BL31 .E46 1987 .
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism : Sacred Ceremonies of North America / William S. Lyon. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998. E98 .M4 L98 1998
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature / Bron R. Taylor, editor-in-chief ; Jeffrey Kaplan, consulting editor ; executive editors, Laura Hobgood-Oster, Adrian Ivakhiv, Michael York. BL31 .E465 2005
Encyclopedia of Religious Freedom / Catharine Cookson, editor. New York : Routledge, 2003. BV741 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion / edited by Serinity Young. BL458 .E53 1999
New Catholic Encyclopedia. BX841 .N44 2003 15 volumes.
New Handbook of Living Religions / edited by John R. Hinnells. BL80.2 .H275 1997
RoutledgeCurzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism / edited by Xinzhong Yao.London ; New York : Routledge, 2003. BL1840 .R68 2003
Shambhala Encyclopedia of Yoga. Georg Feuerstein. BL1238.52 .F47 1997.
World Christian Encyclopedia : a Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions In the Modern World / David B. Barrett, George T. Kurian, Todd M. Johnson. BR157 .W67 2001
Hinduism on the Internet
Islam on the Internet
Judaism on the Internet
American Academy of Religion The site of "...the major learned society and professional association for scholars whose object of study is religion."
Association for Asian Studies "A scholarly, non-political, non-profit professional association open to all persons interested in Asia. It seeks through publications, meetings, and seminars to facilitate contact and an exchange of information among scholars to increase their understanding of East, South, and Southeast Asia."
Association for the Sociology of Religion "Traces its roots to scholars in search of a hospitable place for both empirical study and social criticism animated by the social teachings of the church."
Comparative Religion: Societies and Associations A very comprehensive list of religious associations, societies, centers, and institutes, ranging from the British Society of the Turin Shroud to the International Institute of Islamic Thought.
Material History of American Religion Project (Columbia Theological Seminary) "The Material History of American Religion Project studies the history of American religion in all its complexity by focusing on material objects and economic themes."
North American Association for the Study of Religion Exists "to encourage the historical, comparative, structural, theoretical and cognitive approaches to the study of religion among North American scholars; to represent North American scholars of religion at the international level; and to sustain communication between North American scholars and their international colleagues engaged in the study of religion."
Scholarly Societies Project: Religious Studies (University of Waterloo, Ontario) "This is one of a set of subject pages created by compilers at the University of Waterloo Library to facilitate access to webpages and gophers maintained by or for scholarly societies [in religious studies] across the world."
Society of Biblical Literature "The Society of Biblical Literature (SBL) supports the critical investigation of the Bible. Founded in 1880, SBL is a member of the American Council of Learned Societies. The Society provides conversation partners and resources for those interested in the religions, history, literature, and culture of the ancient near eastern world."