Research Guide for Native American Studies
Standard View

Articles


As Native American Studies is an interdisciplinary area, what databases and indexes you use will depend on your particular topic. For example, social issues might be addressed in Social Work Abstracts or Sociological Abstracts. Native American Literature would be covered in MLA Bibliography or LION. Do not rely solely on this guide but look at the related guides linked in the left column.





Biographies


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Biography Reference Center (Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated)
Maintains biographies and obituaries of individuals by name, date of birth, date of death, or country of origin.   More Info...


American Indian Biographies
E89 .A46 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference

Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900
E89 .W35 2001b | 2nd Floor Reference

Distinguished Native American Spiritual Practitioners and Healers
E89 .J7 2002 | 2nd Floor Reference



Books/Book Chapters


Search PSU Library's catalog, Vikat for books, journals (not individual articles), videos, government information, music and other material owned by the Library. You may search by keywords, author, title or subject headings.

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are a sampling of subject headings of interest for research in Native American Studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the 2nd floor Reference Desk.

*Note: The subject headings "Indians" and "Indians of North America" are used rather than Native American.

Search by Geographical Area
Indians of North America -- Oregon
Indians of North America --West
Indians of North America--Southern States
Indians of South America -- Andes Region
Indians of Mexico

Search by Tribe
Algonquin Indians
Navajo Indians
Klamath Indians
Northern Paiute Indians
Chinook Indians

Search by Topic
Indians -- Cultural Assimilation
Indians -- History
Indians of North America -- Agriculture
Indian beadwork

Remember, too, that you are not just limited to what we own in our Library. Whenever you are searching, you have the option of expanding your results by clicking on the SUMMIT button in the upper right hand corner of the results screen. This automatically redoes your search in the SUMMIT catalog of the ORBIS/CASCADE Alliance. If you find an item in that catalog that you'd like to see, click on the "REQUEST THIS ITEM" link and follow the directions on the screen.

If you cannot find what you need in the our catalog (VIKAT) or the catalog of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance (Summit), then you might try WorldCat. WorldCat contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts.

Browsing in the Library

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

E51-73 Pre-Columbian America. The Indians

E75-99 Indians of North America

E81-83 Indian Wars

E99 Indian tribes and cultures



Encyclopedias/Dictionaries


Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin your research. They frequently contain contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are usually included.


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Oxford Reference Online
Full text subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference and handbooks in all disciplinary areas.   More Info...


Related Resources
Literature Online - LION
Literature Online features a collection of over 260,000 works of American, English, and Modern poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and secondary resources.  More Info...


American Indian Tribes
E77 .A53 2000 | 2nd Floor

Atlas of the North American Indian
E77 .W195 2000 | 2nd Floor

Gale encyclopedia of Multicultural America
E184 .A1 G14 1995 | 2nd Floor

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
E184 .A1 H35 | 2nd Floor

This day in North American Indian History: Important Dates in the History of North America's Native Peoples for Every Calendar Day
E77 .K66 2002 | 2nd Floor

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
E77 .G15 1998 | 2nd Floor

Handbook of North American Indians
E77 .H25 | 2nd Floor

Native North American Firsts
E77 .S96 1998 | 2nd Floor

Arts & Literature

American Indian Art
E98 .A7 F38 | PSU Reserves

American Indian Culture
E98.S7 A44 2004 | 2nd Floor

Art and the Native American: Perceptions, Reality, and Influences
E59.A7 A69 2001 | Basement

Children's and Young Adult Literature by Native Americans: A Guide for Librarians, Teachers, Parents and Students
Z1229.I52 Y67 2003 | 5th Floor

Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
PS153 .I52 W47 1999 | 2nd Floor

Native American Writers of the United States
PN451 .D52 vol. 175 | 2nd Floor

People of the River: Native Arts of the Oregon Territory
E78.C64 M47 2005 | Basement

Roots and branches : a resource of Native American literature : themes, lessons, and bibliographies
PS153 .I52 S87 1998 | 4th Floor

Understanding Northwest Coast Art: A Gude to Crists, Beings and Symbols
E78 .N78 S446 2000 | Basement

Religion & Spirituality

Encyclopedia of Native American Healing
E98 .M4 L96 1996 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: An Introduction
E98 .R3 H73 2000 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North America
E98 .M4 L98 1998 | 2nd Floor

Peyotism and the Native American Church: An Annotated Bibliography
Z1209.2 .N67 W56 2000 | 2nd Floor



Films


The PSU Library includes a collection of feature films and documentaries related to Native American Studies. These titles are located at the Circulation desk on the Library's main floor.





Government Information


Native America Today: A Guide to Community Politics and Culture
E98 .T77 P75 1999 | 2nd Floor

National Congress of American Indians
The NCAI was founded in 1944 and has been working to inform the public and Congress on the governmental rights of American Indians and Alaska Natives. This website provides coverage of current policy issues as well as information about education, health, economic development, and the environment as it relates to Native Americans.

Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project

U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
This web site has text of hearings, current issues information including text of introduced bills, press releases, and additional information of current interest.

Bureau of Indian Affairs
The Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) responsibility is the administration and management of 55.7 million acres of land held in trust by the United States for American Indians, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives. There are 561 federal recognized tribal governments in the United States. Developing forestlands, leasing assets on these lands, directing agricultural programs, protecting water and land rights, developing and maintaining infrastructure and economic development are all part of the agency's responsibility. In addition, the Bureau of Indian Affairs provides education services to approximately 48,000 Indian students.



Legal Resources


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full text sources, including: regional, national and international newspapers; business, legal, and medical publications; and government documents.  More Info...


Kappler Revisited: An Index and Bibliographic Guide to American Indian Treaties
KF8201.A1 B47 2003 | 2nd Floor

Native people: Their Legal Status, Claims, and Human Rights
Z7164 .A2 P78 P-2274 | 2nd Floor

Tribal Criminal Law and Procedure
KF8210.C7 G37 2004 | 3rd Floor

FedLaw: Native Americans
This site, available through FedLaw, provides links to full texts of laws and regulations, including Executive Orders.



Newspapers


Electronic Resources

Related Resources
Newspaper Source
Selected full text of regional, national, and international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.  More Info...

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full text sources, including: regional, national and international newspapers; business, legal, and medical publications; and government documents.  More Info...


Native American Times
Online access to an independently-owned newspaper based in Oklahoma.



Organizations


Association on American Indian Affairs
This organization was founded in 1922 and received non-profit status in 1957. The Association on American Indian affairs played a part in drafting the Indian Child Welfare Act, the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act, and the Tribal Tax Status Act.



Primary Sources


Electronic Resources

Related Resources
Chronicling America
Archives US newspapers from 1836 to 1922. Maintains a directory of US newspapers from 1690 to the present.  More Info...

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Searchable database of digitized early American books, pamphlets and broadsides published between 1639 and 1800.  More Info...

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Searchable database of digitized early American pamphlets, broadsides, books, state papers and governmental materials published between 1801 and 1819.  More Info...

New York Times Historical File (1851- 2007)
Complete, searchable archive of the New York Times from 1851-2007 with full-page and article PDFs.  More Info...

American State Papers
Presents the digitized edition of legislative and executive documents of the U.S.Congress from the late 18th and early 19th centuries.  More Info...

US Congress. Congressional Serial Set.
Searchable, full text database of the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.  More Info...


Cherokee Phoenix (and Indians Advocate)
E99 .C6 C6518 | Microfilm
The Cherokee Phoenix (1828-1833) is also available online through the Georgia Historic Newspapers site.

Native Americans Documents Project
Site includes documents about federal policies concerning native peoples Includes documents of Bureau of Indian Affairs,1871; Allotment Data; Rogue River War and Siletz Reservation Collection.

Avalon Project
A searchable collection of primary source documents in law, history and democracy. Provided by Yale Law School.

Southern Oregon Digital Archive: First Nations Tribal Collection

Chief George Manual Memorial Library and the Fourth World Documentation archive
Includes over 1,000 digitized documents, reports, and publications from American Indian nations and indigenous nations from around the world.

Microfilm Collections in the PSU Library

The PSU Library's collection of microfilm relating to Native Americans includes correspondence between reservation agents and the various incarnations of the U.S. governmental agency that oversaw Indian Affairs, records of those agencies, censuses of Indians, FBI files, government hearings, and many other types of documents. Since some of these items are not included in the Library's online catalog, an inventory has been prepared that will provide you with the titles, holdings, and locations of these items, as well as the titles and locations of any accompanying guides.



Statistics


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition
U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to present.   More Info...

US Department of Commerce. Census Bureau.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.  More Info...


Atlas of American Diversity
E184 .A1 S575 1998 | 2nd Floor

Census Bureau Facts on the American Indian and Alaskan Native Population
Includes Census and American Community Survey data, social and economic characteristics, and links to state and county information.



Web Resources


Administration for Native Americans
Part of the Administration For Children and Families, ANA promotes the goal of social and economic self-sufficiency of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and other Native American Pacific Islanders, including Native Samoans. The web site provides information about programs, reports, application kits, and links to related sites.

American Indian Resource Directory
Sponsored by the American Indian Heritage Foundation, this site provides a directory of federally recognized tribes in the United States.

American Indian Studies Research Institute
An interdisciplinary research center at Indiana University, the Institute sponsors projects focused on the native peoples of the Americas. The site allows public access to the current results of their ongoing projects. The Institute's Dictionary Portal allows the visitor to work with AISRI dictionaries for five languages. The Northern Caddoan Linguistic Text Corpora Portal is a gateway to texts and narratives in Arikara, Skiri Pawnee, and South Band Pawnee.

National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers
Founded in 1998, the Association is a national non-profit membership organization of Tribal government officials who implement federal and tribal preservation laws. NATHPO's overarching purpose is to support the preservation, maintenance and revitalization of the culture and traditions of Native peoples of the United States. This is accomplished most importantly through the support of Tribal Historic Preservation Programs as acknowledged by the National Park Service.

Arts & Literature

Insitute of American Indian Arts

National Museum of the American Indian
The National Museum of the American Indian is the sixteenth museum of the Smithsonian Institution. It is the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans.

Native American Playwrights
Resource provided by Haskell Indian Nations University and the University of Illinois Champaign/Urbanna.

Native Art Network
Find images, general information, and news about Native American art and culture. Browse by artist, medium, or tribe.

Southwest Museum of the American Indian

Storytellers: Native American Authors Online

Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian

ANPA Tribal Writers Digital Library
The Native Writers Digital Text Project brings the works of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose to readers world wide. Featuring out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada, the project seeks to broaden the definition of Native Writing not only by focusing on writers who are not ordinarily anthologized, but also by publishing works which originally appeared in ephemeral sources and the periodical press, especially in those publications edited and produced by Natives.

Religion & Spirituality

Native American Spirituality
This University of Virginia website explores the belief systems of Native Americans, and includes an extensive bibliography and links to related websites.

NativeWeb Religion and Spirituality Resources
A lengthy collection of links to sites about spirituality and specific Native American churches in the U.S.

Oregon

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
This digital collection integrates over 2,300 photographs and 7,700 pages of text relating to the American Indians in two cultural areas of the Pacific Northwest, the Northwest Coast and Plateau. These resources illustrate many aspects of life and work, including housing, clothing, crafts, transportation, education, and employment. The materials are drawn from the extensive collections of the University of Washington Libraries, the Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture (formerly the Cheney Cowles Museum/Eastern Washington State Historical Society), and the Museum of History and Industry in Seattle.

Oregon Indian Tribes
This Access Genealogy site provides information such as location and population of various Oregon Indian tribes.

Oregon Native American Chamber of Commerce

Portland State University Native American Student and Community Center



Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter