America: History and Life|
This principal resource for citations of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada includes full text articles and book reviews. More Info...
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. More Info...
A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources; it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.
Bibliography of Mexican American History
Z1361 .M4 M414 1984 | 2nd Floor
A series of bibliographies related to Latin American studies compiled by the staff of the Beson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
Z1361 .M4 U78 1973 | 5th Floor
The New American Immigration: Evolving Patterns of Legal and Illegal Emigration: A Bibliography of Selected References
Z7164 .I3 C58 1987 | 5th Floor
A Selected and Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Studies
Z1361 .M4 T36 | 2nd Floor
Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: The literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Hispanic Writers
PQ7420.2 .K3 1989 | 2nd Floor
A Biographical Handbook of Hispanics and United States Film
N1995.9 .H47 K46 1997 | 2nd Floor
Hispanic Writers: A Selection of Sketches from Contemporary Authors
PQ7081.3 .H58 1991 | 2nd Floor
Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of Film and Television
PN1995.9 .H47 R49 1994 | 2nd Floor
Latinas!: Women of Achievement
E184 .S75 L354 1996 | 2nd Floor
Notable Hispanic American Women
E184 .S75 N68 1993 | 2nd Floor
Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary
E184 .S75 M435 1997 | 2nd Floor
St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American Artists
N6538.H58 S7 2002 | 2nd Floor
Search Portland State Library's catalog, Vikat for books, journals (not individual articles), videos, government information, music and other material owned by the Library. You may search by keywords, author, title or subject headings.
Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in Chicano and Latino Studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the 2nd floor Reference Desk.
- Mexican Americans (LC uses this term rather than "Chicanos")
- Hispanic Americans (LC uses this term rather than "Latinos")
- Cuban Americans
- Education, Bilingual
- Hispanic Americans Ethnic Identity
- Mexican Americans Ethnic Identity
- Mexican American Women
- Migrant Agricultural Laborers
Finding books elsewhere
Remember, too, that you are not just limited to what we own in our Library. Whenever you are searching, you have the option of expanding your results by clicking on the SUMMIT button in the upper right hand corner of the results screen. This automatically redoes your search in the SUMMIT catalog of the ORBIS/CASCADE Alliance. If you find an item in that catalog that you'd like to see, click on the "REQUEST THIS ITEM" link and follow the directions on the screen.
If you cannot find what you need in the our catalog (VIKAT) or in SUMMIT, then you might try WorldCat. WorldCat contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. If you find materials unavailable in the Portland State Library or through SUMMIT, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)|
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology. More Info...
US Department of Commerce. Census Bureau.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. More Info...
Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies DataBank
Provides access to current and trend data on a comprehensive range of information about the population of the United States, including comparable data on racial and ethnic populations.
Dissertations and Masters Theses|
Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present. More Info...
Latinos in the United States: A Historical Perspective|
E184.S75 :35 2006 | 2nd Floor
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
E184 S75 .097 2005 | 2nd Floor
Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
E 184 .S75 E587 2005 | 2nd | Floor
The Latino Encyclopedia
E 184 .S75 L357 1996 | 2nd Floor
Dictionary of Mexican American History
E184 .M5 M453 | 2nd Floor
Gale encyclopedia of Multicultural America
E184 .A1 G14 1995 | 2nd Floor
Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States
E184 .S75 H365 1993 | 2nd Floor
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
E184 .A1 H35 | 2nd Floor
Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
E184 .S75 R44 1993 | 2nd Floor
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals by ethnic, minority and native presses. Full Text. English and Spanish. More Info...
Selected full text of regional, national, and international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts. More Info...
The Hispanic-American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States
E184 .S75 H557 1993 | 2nd Floor
Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
E184 .S75 2003 | 2nd Floor
Statistical Handbook on U.S. Hispanics
E184 .S75 S27 1991 | 2nd Floor
Statistical Record of Hispanic Americans
E184 .S75 S74 1993 | 2nd Floor
Hispanic Databook of U.S. Cities and Counties
E184 .S75 H567 1994 | 2nd Floor