Research Guide for Conflict Resolution
Standard View

Articles


Because Conflict Resolution is a field that overlaps with many other disciplines, there is no one database that covers all of its literature. Below are listed a few databases which may be useful, but the best way to pursue researching a topic is to consider which field concerns itself with your research question. Does it relate to business mediation, social conflict, international conflict, or another area?

Consider which fields would have researchers writing about your topic and then explore the databases and other research tools that relate to those fields. To assist you, some guides to related disciplines are linked to the column on the left.


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Academic Search Complete
Contains journals from all subject areas in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.   More Info...

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.  More Info...

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes articles related to political institutions, processes and behavior; international law and politics; public policy; public administration; political theory; and political economics.  More Info...


Related Resources
Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  More Info...

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Offers citations, abstracts, and full text articles in scholarly journals on crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts,and sentencing.  More Info...

Criminology Full Text
Covers criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, as well as family and domestic violence.  More Info...

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior.  More Info...


Alternative Press Index
AI3 .A27 | 2nd Floor

Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Political Science, 1886-1974
Z7163 .C65 | 2nd Floor

Peace: Abstracts of the Psychological and Behavioral Literature, 1967-1990
Z6464 .Z9 P39 1991 2nd Floor

Peace Research Abstracts Journal
JX1901 .P38 | 3rd Floor

Using Bibliographies

A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources; it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.

Bibliography on Peace, Security and International Conflict Management
Y 3.P 31:17 P 31 | Govt Documents Federal (4th Floor)

Peacekeeping
http://www.au.af.mil/au/aul/bibs/peacekp03/peacekp03.htm
A bibliography of sources prepared by a Librarian at the Air University Library, Maxwell Air Force Base.

Surviving the Nuclear Age: A Bibliography on Nuclear Weapons, Arms Control and Disarmament, 1945-1983
Z6464 .D6 P87 1983 | 2nd Floor



Biographies


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Biography Reference Center (Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated)
Maintains biographies and obituaries of individuals by name, date of birth, date of death, or country of origin.   More Info...




Books/Book Chapters


Search Portland State Library's catalog, Vikat for books, journals (not individual articles), videos, government information, music and other material owned by the Library. You may search by keywords, author, title or subject headings.

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in conflict resolution. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the 2nd floor Reference Desk.

Some subject headings relate to the resolution of conflict:
Conflict management
Crisis management
Disarmament
Dispute resolution
Family mediation
Interpersonal conflict
Intervention (international law)
Mediation
Negotiation
Nonviolence
Pacific settlement of international disputes
Pacificism
Peace
Reconciliation
Social justice
Violence prevention
Or you may want to approach the topic from the angle of the conflict that needs to be resolved:

Boundary disputes
Conflict of generations
Culture conflict
Ethnic conflict
Interpersonal disputes
Marital conflict
Social Conflict
War

Remember, too, that you are not just limited to what we own in our Library. Whenever you are searching, you have the option of expanding your results by clicking on the SUMMIT button in the upper right hand corner of the results screen. This automatically redoes your search in the SUMMIT catalog of the ORBIS/CASCADE Alliance. If you find an item in that catalog that you'd like to see, click on the "REQUEST THIS ITEM" link and follow the directions on the screen.

If you cannot find what you need in the our catalog (VIKAT) or the catalog of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance (Summit), then you might try WorldCat. WorldCat contains more than 30 million records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. If you find materials unavailable in the Portland State Library or through SUMMIT, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan.



Data


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.  More Info...

US Department of Commerce. Census Bureau.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.  More Info...




Dissertations/Theses


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Dissertations and Masters Theses
Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.  More Info...




Encyclopedias/Dictionaries


Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin your research. They frequently contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are usually included.


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Oxford Reference Online
Full text subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference and handbooks in all disciplinary areas.   More Info...


Aggression and Conflict: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
HM136 .L46 1994 | 3rd floor

The Atlas of War and Peace
G1046.R1 S6 2003 | Basement

Encyclopedia of Arms control and Disarmament
JX1974 .E57 1993 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Conflict Resolution
Online version
HM136 .B783 1997 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping operations
JZ6374 .R36 1999 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts
GN496 .E56 2003 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace & Conflict
HM886 .E53 1999 | 2nd Floor

International Conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and their Management, 1945-1995
D842 .B46 1997 | 2nd Floor

Peace law almanac
JX1952 .P337 1996 | 2nd Floor

Peace Movements of the World
JX1905.5 .P426 1986 | 2nd Floor

The Peace and Nuclear War Dictionary
U263 .A434 1989 | 2nd Floor

Peace, Security, and Conflict Prevention: SIPRI-UNESCO Handbook
JZ5595 .P43 1998 | 3rd Floor

Protest, Power, and cCange: An Encyclopedia of Nonviolent Action from ACT-UP to Women's Suffrage
HM278 .P76 1997 | 3rd Floor

SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament
UA10 .I55 | 2nd Floor

World Encyclopedia of Peace
JX1944 .W67 1986 | 2nd Floor



Methodology


Methodologies - Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Location/Call Number
Dictionary of qualitative inquiry Reference 2nd floor -
H61.S4435
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement Reference 2nd floor -
H62.E585
The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods Reference 2nd floor -
H62.S256


Check out even more handbooks available @ Portland State Library


 

Portland State Library has a many 'how-to' research methodologies books; the following links will lead you to the PSU Library Catalog section for each type of method.

Action Research
Behavioral Assessment
Case Study
Content Analysis
Experimental Design
Evaluation Research
Experimental Psychology
Grounded Theory
Focus Groups
Internet Research
Interviewing / go to second page to get to actual titles
Longitudinal Studies
Mail Surveys
Psychological Tests
Psychology Methodology
Psychology Research
Psychometrics
Qualitative Research
Social Sciences Fieldwork
Social Sciences Methodology
Social Sciences Research
Social Surveys / go to second page to get to actual titles
Sociology Methodologies
Telephone Surveys




Organizations


Biographical Dictionary of Modern Peace Leaders
JX1962 .A2 B56 1985 | 3rd Floor

Guide to IGOs, NGOs, and the Military in Peace and Relief Operations
JZ4850 .A17 2000 | 2nd Floor



Primary Sources


Electronic Resources

Core Resources
Plowshares: Digital Archive for Peace Studies
Provides primary documents - including minutes, diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals - ranging in date from the 1700s to the present. The archive chronicles the social justice efforts of the students and faculty of these colleges as well as the members of their affiliated historic peace-churches - Quakers, Mennonites and the Church of the Brethren.  More Info...




Style Manuals


Citing Your Sources

The Conflict Resolution department recommends that its students use the APA style outlined in the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. For publication, however, take into account that this is an interdisciplinary field and the citation style you use should conform to the field in which you want to publish.



Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
BF76.7 .P83 2001 | 2nd Floor Reference Desk and also on 1-day reserve



Web Resources


Conflict Research Consortium
http://conflict.colorado.edu/

CR Info: The Conflict Resolution Information Source
http://www.crinfo.org/

Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution
http://www.gmu.edu/departments/ICAR/index.html

WWW Virtual Library: Arbitration
http://interarb.com/vl/



Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter