Research Guide for French Language and Literature
Standard View

Articles


Locating articles in French may take a little extra effort.  Please review the article section of the Research Guide for Vernacular or Non-English Resources for more background and tips on locating and retrieving materials in French.



Electronic Resources

Core Resources
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.  More Info...

Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson)
A digital guide to more than 72,000 stories written in or translated into English from more than 4,200 collections and anthologies, as well as an additional 12,000 stories from periodicals.  More Info...

Grangers World of Poetry
13,000 poems in fulltext, 250,000 poetry citations and commentaries, biographies and bibliographies.  More Info...

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism is a full-text, searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements.   More Info...

Critical Insights
Provides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.  More Info...

Literature Resource Center
Provides information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.  More Info...


Related Resources
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Comprehensive resource in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. Provides citations to publications.  More Info...

International Medieval Bibliography
Citations to journal articles and books related to the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from 400-1500.  More Info...

Inter-Play
Indexes plays that appear in collections, anthologies, and periodicals held by the PSU Library.  More Info...

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Citations to articles from major social science and humanities journals from 1907-1984  More Info...

Historical Abstracts
Principal resource for articles on world history from 1450-present.  More Info...

Caribbean Abstracts
Includes book and article abstracts in the humanities and social sciences written about the Caribbean region since 1989.  More Info...

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Topic and citation searching identify articles published in high impact arts and humanities journals.  More Info...


Multidisciplinary Resources
JSTOR
Contains historical backfiles of full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  More Info...

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google. It allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from publishers, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is currently in beta version, meaning it is undergoing continual improvements and revisions. More details...  More Info...

Biography Reference Center (Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated)
Maintains biographies and obituaries of individuals by name, date of birth, date of death, or country of origin.   More Info...


Additional journals of interest:

  • ARTFL - FRANTEXT Database: Consisting of over 2600 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. Genres include novels, poetry, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.

  • RELIEF-Revue électronique de littérature française: An international peer-reviewed journal aimed at researchers in the field of French literature and culture of the Middle Ages to the present.  Accessible via the Directory of Open Access Journals. 

  • Contemporary French & Francophone Studies:  Focusing on French and Francophone studies, with the aim of reflecting the interdisciplinary direction taken by the field and by the humanities and the arts in general.  From March 1997 to a year from the current day, due to a 12-month embargo on the most recent issues.


Encyclopedias/Dictionaries


Reference materials such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and bibliographies are excellent ways to begin your research.  Reference materials tend to be library use only and unless otherwise noted, are located on the second floor of the library.

General Literature Resources

  • Writers of the French Enlightenment / edited by Samia I. Spencer.  | PN451 .D52 vols. 313 & 314
  • Seventeenth-century French writers / edited by Françoise Jaouën. | PN451 .D52 vol. 268
  • Encyclopédie de la littérature | PN41 .E4714 2003
  • Dictionnaire des écrivains de langue français / Jean-Pierre de Beaumarchais, Daniel Couty, Alain Rey. | PQ41 .B412 2001 
  • French women writers : a bio-bibliographical source book / edited by Eva Martin Sartori, et al | PQ149 .F73 1991
  • The New Oxford companion to literature in French / edited by Peter France. | PQ41 .N49 1995

Drama/Theater Resources

  • Twentieth-century French dramatists / edited by Mary Anne O'Neil | PN451 .D52 vol. 321
  • French dramatists, 1789-1914 / edited by Barbara T. Cooper. | PN451 .D52 vol.192




Internet Resources


  • Culture.fr: In French. This gateway to French culture links to information about cultural initiatives, exhibitions, programs, and other information, in all of the regions of France. The site includes a languages and literature portal as well as a portal for cinema and multimedia.
  • Bibliothèque nationale de France: The website of the National Library of France provides a gateway to a wide-ranging content, including bibliographies, catalogs, online exhibition, full text information and digitized images. The full online catalog of the holdings of the BNF is included.  In French, but the library does provide an English language portal.
  • /DITL/ Dictionnaire National des Termes Littéraires (Directory of International Terms of Literary Criticism and Cultural Studies): A global project of the International Comparative Literature Association. Dedicated to survey, clarify and define terms used in literary criticism throughout the world.
  • Théâtrales: A collection of texts in French theater.  Hosted by University of Quebec at Montreal
  • Le Théâtre de la foire à Paris: The beginnings of theater at the fair, as it existed in Paris in the 17th and possibly the 18th centuries.




Portland State University Branford P. Millar Library | 1875 SW Park Avenue | Portland, Oregon 97201 | 503.725.5874 | Support the Library | Sitemap | Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter